THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SINGLE SHOT RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Single Shot Rifles    223 has a really deep free bore.

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

223 has a really deep free bore.
 Login/Join

posted
Hello everyone. I am new to this forum but not to reloading. However I am new to reloading for a HEF handi-rifle. I have two of them. A 243win with the youth stock, and a 223rem with the wood youth stock. I have free floated the barrels on both from the screw lug forward and accu-glassed the rest. Both have 2.5 pond triggers. Both are disappointingly inaccurate. The 243 will get 1.5" to 2.5" inch groups regardless of what I feed it. Good enough for my son. The 223 on the other hand needs to be a sub MOA rifle. It too is a 2" to 3" rifle. One thing I have noticed with the 223 has a really deep free bore. So deep that I can't seat the bullet near the lands. Anyone have any reloading experience with NEF 223 standard barrel rifles. By the way, it has the 1:12 twist. Thanks

Posts: 15 | Location: Blue Springs, Mo. | Registered: 05 June 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Ignore the deep throats and load to recommended COL and work with powders and bullets. Are they by chance the Superlight models with 20" barrels? They're very tempermental. but can be made to shoot well if you take your time and don't let the barrel warm up. The 55gr and 95gr Ballistic Silvertips shoot real good in the 243 as well as the 95gr SST. The 223 will do best with 40gr-55gr bullets, even those with the 1:9" twist.

Check out the NEF Forum at GBO, lots of 223/243 load threads there. Here's a couple...

http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/index.php/topic,117838.msg...5.html#msg1098384845

http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/index.php/topic,117694.msg...9.html#msg1098383919

http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/index.php/board,126.0.html