New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ruger No.1 45-70 Short Throats?
 Login/Join

<rws2>
posted
I just purchased a new No.1 in 45-70 and have read bits and pieces here and there that Ruger has shortened the throats on this caliber.
What exactly does this all mean? I got dies,brass and 405gr. Rem JSPs on the way and plan to load some up as soon as the stuff gets here.But I'm fairly new at reloading and was wondering about this short throat thingy???

one of us
posted Hide Post
I usually get best accuracy by seating the bullet a few thousandths of an inch from the rifling. A long throat will allow you to increase the over all length of the cartridge when using longer, heavier bullets. This prevents the bullet from intruding into the case and diminishing the powder capacity. Short throats do not allow you to increase the OAL, thus the amount powder you can fit into a case is reduced.

one of us
posted Hide Post
rws2

I went through the questions a while back and learned the following.

Bill Ruger gave the original #1 45-70s a little longer throated than SAAMI specs, probably to allow the full strength of the #1 action to be realized by using more powder for hotter loads.
Later, Ruger switched the #1 45-70 back to standard SAAMI lengths. As a result, hand loaded ammo for the earlier rifles will not fit the newer models and you can't get quite as much velocity out of the newer rifles.

I asked the Ruger factory people exactly when the change was made in terms of dates and serial numbers. Guess what, they don't know! Apparently serial numbers are not slapped on as they leave the line in exact time sequence, so their best answer was that the the change was made sometime in -- if I rightly recall -- 1980.

I guess if you want a longer custom throat, a competent gunsmith could do the job for very little cost. The action will certainly safely take the extra load because the earlier #1s did it w/o any problem. 1B

Posts: 51 | Location: Reston VA | Registered: 02 January 2003Reply With Quote