New
Find
Notify
Tools

T/C Legal Frame Usage
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey folks, I'm from the USA and I understand the laws regarding "short barreled rifles". Meaning one can take a pistol and make it a rifle with a 16"+ barrel, but you cant take a rifle and make it a pistol, or cant put a pistol barrel on a rifle stocked frame because then you have an SBR.

That said, when it comes to T/C frames [contender, G2, Encore], are the serial numbers registered somewhere declaring it as either rifle or pistol? Or does it matter?

For example, looking to build myself a old G1 kit.. I'm looking at bare frames online Gunbroker and such, how do I know if the frame is pistol or rifle? Or is that something that is declared when I run the paperwork at my local FFL?

Thanks

Posts: 168 | Location: Iowa | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am not a lawyer! It is my understanding it is legal to go either way with a T/C. You can not put together parts in an illegal manner, but you can own what parts you want and put them together in a legal manner.

As I remember the story: ATF gave T/C a hard time over their .410s. A short barreled shot gun was "smooth bore", and T/Cs were not smooth. T/C "went along" and stopped making the .410s. Then the ATF said you could not own parts that could be put together in an illegal manner (rifle stock and a short barrel) even if you could put the parts together in a legal manner and NEVER put them together in an illegal manner. T/C said "enough" and went to court and won at USSC.

Justice Sandra Day O'Connor had to explain to the other learned people the difference between rimfire and centerfire.

Edit: I bought my T/C Contender frame as a factory bare frame, no barrel.

Posts: 277 | Registered: 25 September 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Scott Powell
posted Hide Post