THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Gunsmithing    Best Bedding Compound? Pro Bed 2000 explained (I like explanation)

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best Bedding Compound? Pro Bed 2000 explained (I like explanation)
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Doc
posted
Just one man's opinion:

I tried Marine Tex and I thought it sucked...Big-Time.

I have a degree in chemistry from UT Austin. Many use Marine Tex because it has a very high concentration of steel in it. Well, Devcon Plastic Steel Liquid does too. Tell me...what happens to finely divided steel when exposed to moisture? It oxidizes... it rusts. What happens to it's volume? It increases. Take a ton of iron...2000 lbs. Add oxygen and oxidize it to Ferric Oxide = Fe2O3 = rust. It now weighs 2,860 lbs. and it's larger in volume too. Just a guess, but that doesn't sound like a very good filler to be using in a bedding compound to me. I've popped a bunch of actions out of their stocks and seen where the bedding is rusty on the surface. That tells me that the mating surface is changing...that can't be a good thing when a thousandth of an inch in this area is HUGE.