New
Find
Notify
Tools

Win 375H&H problem
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hi All, I recently purchased a Winchester M70 super express in 357H&H, now the rifle was unmarked and looked as new, no signs of wear and very little use. I mounted a Leupold V111 1.5x5 on Leupold QD mounts and bedded the action right out to and including the barrel lug, now do you think I can get it too shoot? no way, the best I can get is 6" at 100yds with factory and handloads, I've been shooting large bores for many years and this one has got me stumped, One thing I have noticed is chatter marks on the rifling near the muzzle it may even go down further into the bore. has anyone seen this problem before and this may be causing the poor performance, any ideas apart from rebarreling, also is that barrel lug really needed...thanks guys.....Les

Posts: 115 | Location: Vic Australia | Registered: 05 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hello Les,

Did you try it with the open sights? Did you shoot it before bedding? Is the front ring a half inch or so behind the gold ring, and double check to ensure everything is tight?

A bad crown is never good for accuracy, it's the last thing to influence the bullet. I'm not sure how much the "chatter" marks in the bore would infuence accuracy (I've seen some rough bores that still shot great), but if it affects the crown, that could definitely be your problem. You might try to polish the crown if it's not too bad, or re-crown, or move the sights back and shorten/re-crown the barrel to remove the offending machining marks, or re-barrel. Barrel lug is probably not necessary on a properly stocked 375. If it were purchased NIB, I would send it back to USRAC/Winchester, but I bet that bedding might affect their warranty.

Good luck and let us know how it works out,

Bill

Posts: 1169 | Location: USA | Registered: 23 January 2002Reply With Quote

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
Les,