THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Old 1909 Peru Mauser acton in Stainless Steel??
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Riodot
posted
I'm wondering about a Rifle I saw today. it is a 1909 Peruvian Mauser that is no blued, not stainless steel, it almost seems to be chromed. It is beautiful shiny bright steel with a blued barrel. What kind of finish do you think is on this action. I thought in-the-white metal had to be blued. Confused

That's right I'm a rookie regarding this stuff. Smiler

Also, is this a good project action? It is chambered in a 7x57 with a butt-ugly white wood stock of some kind.

Lance

Lance Larson Studio

lancelarsonstudio.com

Posts: 933 | Location: Casa Grande, AZ | Registered: 11 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Its in the White. Same goes for the 1909 Argentine and a few of the other South American contract Mausers. Pristine copies sure are beautiful actions.

The 1909 Peruvian is a fine action. I believe it is identicle to the 1909 Argentine. Find out if it was made in Germany or South America. Many of the Mausers made in South America had suspect heat treatment.

Posts: 1240 | Location: Golden, CO | Registered: 05 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
Pretty good steel not to have rusted in all these years huh? thumb

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station

Try to look unimportant. Your enemy might be low on ammo.

Posts: 8346 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Tex21
posted Hide Post
The action is not stainless, the ctions were furnished "in the white."

This action is highly desirable for a basis of a custom rifle. There are no flies on the 7x57 - if the barrel is still good, keep it and make sporter out of it.