New
Find
Notify
Tools

African Express- the finish
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been finishing stocks in one form or another for around 35 years. I've used most of the products on the market and some I've concocted on my own. I picked up the African Express stock finishing kit from Brownells a while back to give it a try. I have finished one stock with it, a turkish walnut shotgun stock, and am now working on a rifle stock. I've decided that I like it. I don't know if I'll ever use the wax and other stuff but the oil and grain filler work great. Was just wondering if any of the other 'smittys here have tried it and what are your impressions of the finish?

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history when everybody stands around reloading".

Posts: 831 | Location: Randleman, NC | Registered: 07 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Clowdis,
You should also try the Gun-Sav-R from Brownells..It is easy to apply, just spray and pray and presto you get fantastic results..

That said, I fill with a filler once or twice to start with, then follow the directions..and the results are fantastic..

Also, I left a piece of finished wood on my shop roof in Idaho all winter. I could not believe how well it stood up to a wet/snow covered off an on Idaho winter...Nothing else I have tried worked as well over the years..Is you first name Jim?

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 41979 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Is that the 6 bottle kit?

it's NOTHING like spray on gun sav'r/pro custom gun oil, and I have a friend that likes it somewhat, but it does take AT LEAST 3 weeks to apply per directions...

Myself? I like 2 coats of sanding sealer and 2 to 4 coats of pro custom gun oil... and its good enough to hunt with
jeffe

#dumptrump

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club