New
Find
Notify
Tools

Grain flow for new rifle project
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I picked up this old left over unfinished stock from the Winchester custom shop, and I am thinking about using it for a left handed 375 or 416. Do any of the experts here see any issues with the grain flow that would cause you concern? The grain looks pretty straight through the wrist, but I am not experienced in selecting wood blanks for big bores.

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Typical grain flow; the perfect grain would curve down through the grip but that is difficult to get.
If you are concerned, drill the grip for a steel rod insert.

Posts: 17179 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by dpcd:
Typical grain flow; the perfect grain would curve down through the grip but that is difficult to get.

Do you recommend going from the top with the drill, starting behind the action screw? Or from the bottom through the grip cap?

One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
quote:

It looks a ripper to me, dpcd. What makes grain curving with the grip superior?

Posts: 5012 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
IF not already cut for lefty,
I'd love to have that stick.

Good luck with it. Should be a real
beauty.

George

"Gun Control is NOT about Guns'
"It's about Control!!"
Join the NRA today!"

LM: NRA, DAV,

George L. Dwight

Posts: 5960 | Location: Pueblo, CO | Registered: 31 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
On quarter sawn wood, having as much of the grain flowing through the thinnest place in any piece will make it stronger. But if you try to get that from a straight grained piece you end up with a fore end with slanted grain. What you don't want is it flowing the opposite way, which makes it weaker.
With plain sawn blanks it doesn't matter.