Find
Notify
Tools

High number Rock Island 1903 as a sporter
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hello guys,
This is my first time on this forum and I am wondering if anyone can give me any pointers on my new project. I recently ran across a high number Rock Island 1903 receiver that has been drilled and tapped for a scope. I also own a sporterized low number Springfield 1903 (ser#18626) that I am told is not safe to shoot due to the early practice of over heat treating, even though my uncle hunted with it for many years. My plan is to rob the useable parts from the Springfield, fit them to the Rock Island receiver, re-finish the stock, re-barrel, and re-blue. I am a CNC machinis by trade and have access to all the machine tools necessary to do the job, but have never fitted a barrel before. Are there any good books available on this subject that will give me the required dimensions? Also, I am debating between Pac-Nor, Douglas, and Shilen barrel blanks. Which do you suggest?

one of us
posted Hide Post
What do you need the parts from the springfield for? What is the eventual goal?

Posts: 4740 | Location: Fresno, CA | Registered: 21 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The Rock Island receiver and my recently inherited (un-shootable) Springfield are both the same 1903 design, making all of the components of the Springfield useable towards the goal of creating a custom sporterized 30-06 rifle with extreme shootability.

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
number 1 thing to do with a springfield... heavier lock spring... the locktime is LONG on that

i've got springfields in 257 roberts, 30-06, 300win, and 358 win.... they are are great guns to have and hold.

jeffe

Posts: 39660 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Who makes a heavier lock spring for the 1903?

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
wolf springs...
www.midwayusa.com is one place
jeffe

one of us
posted Hide Post