New
Find
Notify
Tools

Making a Cadet Breechblock
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have a BSA 12 action I would like to convert to center fire without modifying the original breechblock.

I am a machinist with access to CNC and EDM machines and this will be a "training project" as I get time at work. I have already reverse-engineered the profile of the block to what I believe will be within .001" or .002" all around. This will become a toolpath for the EDM after the hinge pin and firing pin holes have been drilled.

Obviously the firing pin angle will be different. My measurements indicate the rimfire pin is angled 2.1 degrees upward using the flat on the bottom of the block for a reference. I intend to try eliminating this angle for centerfire cartridges. I will also make a new firing pin "retaining sleeve" threaded 7/16-20 instead of the apparently non-standard sized original.

My questions are:

- What rockwell hardness should the block be for .357 mag? I have access to some very modern maraging steels that are in the Rc 40 range in their normalized state. I also have access to 4130, but it moves when heat treated which might make the final fitting difficult. I'd prefer not to heat treat at all if its not necessary.

- I also intend to make a new firing pin that is 5/64" (.078") dia. How much protrusion should it have?

- Will leaving the firing pin assembly parallel to the flat on the bottom of the block work for centerfire?

- I'm currently trying to make the new block's profile identical to the old one, but should I expect to modify the "legs" on the rear of the block so it can open further for the .357 round?

I know these are some pretty specific questions, but I'm sure some of you can answer some of them. The good thing about making a whole new block is that I won't ruin the gun if I screw up and I can keep trying til I get it right. Thanks for your time - John

Posts: 103 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: 27 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us