New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mag Mauser Receiver
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
There is a Magnum Mauser Receiver on the gunbroker site. What would a guy do about a bolt and why would someone sell a stripped receiver? Remember Mr. Kobe that I am a novice!

The only easy day is yesterday!

Posts: 2758 | Location: Northern Minnesota | Registered: 22 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Most likely because he buys the complete actionand parts it out on Ebay. Then sells the receiver which he cannot sell on ebay on GunBroker.

This is the same action they use for the non-magnum calibers too. No difference. get a milsurp bolt, open the face, alter extractor, and weld on a new handle. Or, look for the bolt on Ebay. the bolts are usually sold stripped so it will end up costing about the same to just alter a milsurp and it will look better.

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
I have actually bought two of these actions, from this guy.

there is NO, zero, zip nada, measuable difference in the bottom of the metal than a 30-06 charles daly..

Nearly had to send them back, then finally decided I would just go ahead and "do" it.. figured it would make a little feeding easier.

he buys them, as is, from someone that bought a boat load of these from daly.

I honestly don't know WHY there's so many daly receivers in the country, without parts, but i have seen these at gun shows for several years.. and some barreled actions without bottoms tend to pop up with some frequency.

i kept the two i bought, as it wasn't worth the reship price to me.. however, should a guy be expecting some advantage over a 30-06 lenth action, he is getting no gain.

however, the seller is a heck of a nice guy, anyway.

this particular auction has nothing to do with other parts being sold on ebay, but stripping receivers for non firearms parts is a common practice
jeffe

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR