THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any word on our Houston and gulf coast buddies?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Has anybody had any word from our Texas guys? I sure hope all is well with them.
Butch

Posts: 8964 | Location: Poetry, Texas | Registered: 28 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Charles_Helm
posted Hide Post

Posts: 8773 | Location: Republic of Texas | Registered: 24 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Although I am a resident of Pearland, I am writing this from Amarillo Texas. Looks like I picked the right hurricane to leave. I would be in the middle of the mess except my daughter had been planning to get married in Amarillo last friday night for almost a year. We left out of intercontinental airport on thursday 9/11.

Three years ago we were faced with hurricane Rita. It was forecasted to come ashore around freeport texas and devestate the Houston/Galveston SMSA. My four brothers, my parents and most of my friends decided to leave. My wife's mother was terminally ill with cancer and could not travel. Consequently we brought her to our house in pearland. I boarded up the windows put in plenty of provisions and water, got a generator and hunkered down. I figured that If I was going to meet my demise, I would do it at my house in my bed, clutching my favorite firearm. Panic ensued and a million or so people tried to evacuate houston all at once. Unbelievable chaos. Some of my family and friends were on the road for up to 40 hours just to get a couple of hundred miles. The hurricane made a right turn and hit along the Texas/Louisiana border. Out of 150 residents in our subdivision, I was one of 3 families that did not evacuate. Consequently I spent the next week in the comfort of my air conditioned home.