New
Find
Notify
Tools

25-06 improved,40 degree shoulder
 Login/Join

<jjdero>
posted
I need some help/advice on having a Remington 700 in 25-06 with a 24", 1/10 twist, barrel re-reamed to 25-06 Improved, 40 degree shoulder. Is the 24" barrel too short to expect any appreciable added performance, and is this a barrel burner deluxe caliber? And is there any loads out there to share? Any help is always appreciated. Thanks JD
Say guys, thanks for the fast and informative response, I think I will enjoy this rifle even with a 24" barrel. I've been reloading since 1960, but only been using this computer a year or so, bare with me please. Thanks JD

[This message has been edited by jjdero (edited 02-24-2002).]

one of us
posted Hide Post
You can expect a maximum increase of 100-200 fps over the standard 25-06. Loading data is quite simple. Use the same bullets and powders that you would use in the 25-06, and use max 25-06 loads for starting loads and work up.

Posts: 2851 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 02 September 2001Reply With Quote
<re-loader>
posted
I had a 25-06 AI built last year----I can't possibly tell you how fantastic it shoots. I am reaching 3600fps with 100 gr pills-----I have a 27 " barrel-----I don't load it hot. It is flatter than anything I have ever shot--
3" hi at 100 2" at 200 1" at 300
4" low at 400 15 1/2" low at 500.
It was a fussy sucker to find the bug hole load-----the ONLY boat tail it likes is a 100 gr XLC----everything has to be flat base-----doesn't like anything lighter than 95 gr. heavier than 117gr. Ihave no idea what you will give up with a 24" tube---I would guess you could push a 100 gr XLC around
3200 maybe 3260. Good luck

one of us
Picture of wildcat junkie
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jjdero:
Is the 24" barrel too short to expect any appreciable added performance, and is this a barrel burner deluxe caliber?