New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reaming out a necg banded sight
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a NECG/ recknagel masterpiece banded front sight that l'm hoping to use on an upcomming build. What is the thinnest wall thickness of the sight band that l should aim to use for silver soldering?
Currently the sight has an internal diameter of .595" and a wall thickness of .035". I'm hoping l can ream out the internal diameter to .614" and that will leave me with a band thickness of .025". Is this to thin?

Posts: 61 | Location: Adelaide, Australia | Registered: 21 August 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted Hide Post
That will work fine, but you don't need to silver solder it, soft solder is more than strong enough; use one of the 3% silver soft solders, or maybe Loctite 380.

John Farner

If you haven't, please join the NRA!

Posts: 2944 | Location: Corrales, NM, USA | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
if you plan to blue it after, silver solder it .. .025 is fine.. you can bore it rather than ream it, on a taper, and have it match the barrel taper. should NOT go on cold, imho

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 39622 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jeffeosso:
if you plan to blue it after, silver solder it .. .025 is fine.. you can bore it rather than ream it, on a taper, and have it match the barrel taper. should NOT go on cold, imho

Jeffe. WTH does that have to do with it. I have installed dozens of them and only used the Brownell's "Force-44" stuff. I am sure that John Farmer was referring to that type.

It will blue up just fine. Besides, silver solder gets the barrel too hot IMHO

Jim Kobe
10841 Oxborough Ave So