New
Find
Notify
Tools

Made first scope mounts
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted

This is my first attempt at making a set of scope mounts for an action. These are for Talley quick detach rings and are mounted on a Defiance action. I have given up on Montana and McGowen ever coming out with their mini actions for .223 so I had Glenn Harrison make me one of his new actions along the lines of a Remington model 7. So, I have mounts, now I need some way to eliminate the Remington style recoil lug so I can adapt a quarter rib and find some stainless bottom metal if that's possible. Any ideas?

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history when everybody stands around reloading".

Posts: 828 | Location: Randleman, NC | Registered: 07 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Pics not working here...

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Well, photobucket isn't working. Will try to post photo later. Mad

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history when everybody stands around reloading".

Posts: 828 | Location: Randleman, NC | Registered: 07 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
In an old gunsmithing book it shows how a guy made a mauser type recoil lug for a remington and welded it on. I believe the Book is called Riflesmithing.

One of Us
Picture of richj
posted Hide Post
Didn't Butch "turd weld" one on his 6.5x47 :-)

clowdis

Your pic link is pointing to your home PC "C:"
drive

Posts: 6401 | Location: NY, NY | Registered: 28 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
OK, got it this morning!

One of Us
Picture of kcstott
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 22WRF:
In an old gunsmithing book it shows how a guy made a mauser type recoil lug for a remington and welded it on. I believe the Book is called Riflesmithing.