New
Find
Notify
Tools

Can this stock be saved?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I purchased this mostly inletted stock from Richards Micro-Fit back around 1997. It is exhibition grade Walnut. It left my posession a few years ago. I had already finished it and it sat in my safe for years and a "friend" wanted it. I sold it and went by to see how it was going. Well, not so good. Seems He had no experience bending bolts and even less fitting them into a stock. I cursed the day I sold it and I cursed him. He gave it back to me saying he was sorry to have buggered it up and promised never to touch another gun. I am not a gunsmith, I am a machinist. My experience with stocks is limited to doing the finish--sanding, feathering, rotten stone, tongue oil...etc. I am trying to get these pictures posted. The scale used as reference is in inches--1/16 & 1/8 increments. How do I post these pictures?May I email the pictures to a member having permission to post pictures so ya'll can see the damage?

We Band of Bubbas
N.R.A Life Member
TDR Cummins Power All The Way
Certified member of the Whompers Club

Posts: 2973 | Location: South Texas | Registered: 15 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I not up to posting pictures however someone will do it for you. What type of rifle? If you want to email the pictures rgg_7@hotmail.com I'll give you my opinion. Has any of the wood been broken away? Any other area except the bolt handle mucked up like the trigger guard? Ron

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
How do I post these pictures?May I email the pictures to a member having permission to post pictures so ya'll can see the damage?

Send them to ramrod340@hotmail.com and I'll post them.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'll post the pictures for you...

PM me for my best address to email them to me.

Henry22LR

One of Us
posted Hide Post