New
Find
Notify
Tools

Magazine capacity 1903 in 308 Norma
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have a 308 Norma on a 1903 springfield (doulbe heat treat Smiler ). Mag capacity is 3, is that typical for that conversion and what is the solution to that? (not that I really need a lot of rounds in there, just curious).

Red

Posts: 4740 | Location: Fresno, CA | Registered: 21 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I'm not sure on the 1903. In the case of a normal 98 that will hold 5 06 style cases down they will only hold 3mag cases. Without some type of drop box or at least a different floor plate I bet you will only get 3 down.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
Red,

You know I'm a Mauser mechanic not Springfield but the Mauser box, unaltered will hold three magnum cases, but aproperly dimensioned Mauser mag will hold 4. I would imagine the same holds true for the Speingfield.

The proper box is wider not necessarily deeper.

Aut vincere aut mori

Posts: 4864 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
One in chamber plus three in box should be enough for anything you want to hunt. JMHO

Ray

Arizona Mountains

Posts: 1560 | Location: Arizona Mountains | Registered: 11 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
but aproperly dimensioned Mauser mag will hold 4

z1r what do I need to do to a 98 mag to get it to fit 4? I can't lower the floorplate

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
Ramrod,

A true magnum box would be wider by about .110" at the rear. I can't calc front dimensions offhand because I can't remember what the shoulder dimensions are.