New
Find
Notify
Tools

Factory Sporter Accuracy Questions
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What sort of accuracy can one reasonably expect from factory rifles? At what point does one conclude that a rifle's maximum accuracy has been achieved?

Allow me to elaborate. We all know that the barrel is the heart of a rifle. Assuming all other problems have been addressed, including bench technique, this will be the limiting factor.

How many powders, bullets and primers should be tested before concluding that a rifle has reached its maximum accuracy, assuming the testing is done properly and competently?

I've been handloading for >50 years, seriously for 30. I think I am a competent student of the craft. I followed Precision Shooting Magazine for several years and have read Harold Vaughn's "Rifle Accuracy Facts" several times. I've tuned and loaded for several dozens of rifles. When faced with a rifle which doesn't perform well I examine it carefully using a lengthy checklist and correct any problems. In load testing I start with a couple of appropriate bullets of known accuracy, two or three powders in the correct burning rate range but not so similar as to be redundant, and Federal primers. I will test an alternate primer as a last resort. I pay attention to proper brass prep, runout, etc. I begin range testing using the ladder method.

With the exception of Problem Child, a Ruger No. 1 RSI, I've never failed to get reliable accuracy of 2" to 2.5", including ALL groups and keeping meticulous records of load data and range results. The most accurate rifle was a bone stock Browning 223 Varmint with the BOSS.

Sorry for being so detailed, but I would like to avoid the "Did you try a reliable scope?" responses. Kindly share your opinion.

Thanks,
Brice

Posts: 2827 | Location: Seattle, in the other Washington | Registered: 26 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't think we can add to what you are doing.