Notify
Tools

Re: actions for customs?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Idared
posted
lb404

Lets cut to the chase here. You say you like like facts and not suppositions. However, what is a supposition to you could very well be a fact to me. You say you have been shooting for 40 + years and have had a couple of case head separations . I have been shooting for over 45 years and have suffered one. Does that make you twice as likely than me to have a case head separation? You do the math!!

I do agree with your statement " I don't recommend the experience , but I also don't tell myself they will never happen anymore either. Anyway, with this in mind I have one question for you. If you were to go out hunting on a twenty-five mile pack-in hunt, what is the LAST rifle you want this to happen to you at least twenty-five miles from the nearest civilization with? For me the answer is easy, its the pre-64 model 70, hands down. I'd be interested in your choice and reasons for it.

Now, I am not saying anyone should rid themselves of all their pre-64s, I won't even do that. But, I still maintain that they have a big problem handling gas if you have a case head seperation. Judging by your experience I still might have another accident, as you have had twice as many as me already.

Also, could you please elaboate on what you mean by "I have put to sleep at least 45(not inclusive of all but only the ones I could easily find in my logs) not one Winchester in the bunch. Plenty of Remingtons, several Brownings, three Beretta and one Sig for bullet in barrel obstructions. " Does this mean you simply traded or sold them or that you had accidents or problems with them?

Many thanks

Posts: 845 | Location: Central Washington State | Registered: 12 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post