Notify
Tools

Re: Stamp or laser
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Anyone have a reply, please!!!!????
EC

Posts: 180 | Location: Northern Colorado, USA | Registered: 26 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
contact a jeweler or one of those shops that make trophys and plaques. They may be able to put something on that'l look right.

Posts: 85 | Location: Tex | Registered: 29 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I don't know anything about laser etching. I stamp mine, but I am an amateur. In gunsmith school, they used a Pantagraph which uses a carbide tip to engrave the caliber, etc. The ones I've got that are pantagraphed look as good or better than factory. Call a couple of gunsmiths in the area; it should be pretty cheap to get it done.

Posts: 1450 | Location: Dakota Territory | Registered: 13 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of tiggertate
posted Hide Post
You may have to find a closer gunsmith. I chased this rabbit a few years back and could not find ANYONE willing to touch a gun...too afraid of trouble with the law.

Posts: 11142 | Location: Texas, USA | Registered: 22 September 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Scrollcutter
posted Hide Post
Look for a gun engraver in your area. He will be happy to do it for you. Probably cost you 4-5 dollars per letter.

You can take it to a jeweler, but the drag pantographs only scratch the lettering in to about .001 in depth and it doesn't look anywhere as nice as hand cut lettering.

You can't tell from the photograph, but the thick sections of the letter are probably .008-.010 deep. This lettering is about .100 in height.

Posts: 1634 | Location: Washington State | Registered: 29 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of tiggertate
posted Hide Post
Thats kind of expensive for a .22 Ergensplitenloudenboomer Ackley Improved.

Posts: 11142 | Location: Texas, USA | Registered: 22 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
tiggertate,