New
Find
Notify
Tools

30-30 A.I. safe in 94 Win.
 Login/Join

<jd_1>
posted
Hey guys, anyone know if this would be a safe modification? Also would the 40 degree shoulder affect proper feeding. Would my best bet be to trade it for a marlin? Thanks...JD

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a Marlin 336 rechambered to the 30-30 A I. Bought it and the dies for a song because the primers were flowing back into the firing pin hole even with light loads.

The firing pin had to be bushed. After I did that I've had no trouble.

Feeds good, accuracy is about 1.5 inch groups at 100 yds with a Lyman aperture rear sight. I'm getting 2450 fps with Rem 170 gr core lokt bullets and 2650 fps with 150 gr Sierras.

Brass life is good. Case necks are a little thin and weak for crimping so I use a Lee factory crimp die.

I have no experience with the Win 94 and Ackley Imp chambers.

Good Luck
Craftsman

Posts: 1536 | Location: North Texas | Registered: 11 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
It is probably safer than the standard 30-30 inasmuch as without the sloping case you get less set back....

------------------
Ray Atkinson

ray@atkinsonhunting.com
atkinsonhunting.com

Posts: 41907 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have chambered 94s in 30/30 improved and they are fine. Of course pressures in a cartridge like this are what you make them.