Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Browning BLR
 Login/Join

posted
I have been having trouble getting this rifle to shoot well. I'm not expecting MOA out of this little 358Win lever with a 20" barrel, but i think it should be able to keep them in 2" @ 100yds. I found one of my problems in the scope mounts..weaver style, the rear screw had stripped out and was unable to hold tight. fixed that
(I hope) with some Burris signature Zee rings. Took the bases off degreased all and lock tight the whole mess. Now for my real question...the front screw holding on the forend, how tight is it supposed to be? I've read just tight..to torque in down good? Which is correct? Also I am new to weaver style bases and rings..are they strong enough for the kind of recoil this little number generates. I am trying to develop an all around Deer/Elk load for here in Colorado dark timber and have settled in the Nosler 225 Partition. All help from you Guru's will be greatly appreciated.

Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Okay,,, you have the right person for 358 winchesters!!

1: go to brownells and look up "oversized screw" or you can decide to go 8x32/38/40 threads and rework the bases..

this will give you some relief

2: nosler's are great bullets, however 225 gamekings have given me, hands down, the best accuracy

3: have the stock bedded.. i know this sounds weird... have the rear skim bedded at the junction and the forearm TIGHTLY bedded to the barrel (not free floated) .. this should bring you to ~1.25-1.5"

4: don't bother having the trigger done,,, it will still be hard

5: blr's are VERY sensitive to how you hold them... if you are shooting from the bench, and change the pressure of your right palm on the pistol grip, your POI will move

6: limbsaver pad

jeffe

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com