Find
Notify
Tools

A new legal BMG
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Collins
posted
OK, so knowing the popularity of the 50 BMG and the fact it's treated like the scourge of the planet by the "I don't care how many people were killed by infections in hospitals or by drunk drivers, I just want those evil .50 BMG's off the street" crowd. I'm thinking of a more reasonable and potentially more powerful cartridge. I just found out that there is a .50 BMG AI (BIG neat-o factor) But what I'd like to do to keep it below the radar of the previously mentioned zealots is to neck that down to .458. I have NO experience with any of this but would appreciate comment, either here or off line. Cost (dies, reamers...) Platform, (current 50 BMG rifles) and stuff like that...

Discuss.

Collins
Airgunner / 458 SOCOMer/ 45-70er / 458 Lotter

www.actionairgun.com LIVE NOW

Posts: 2327 | Location: The Sunny South! St. Augustine, FL | Registered: 29 May 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Isn't there a 50 spotter cartridge? Wouldn't fill the bill for performance and milsurp compontents?

Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
Figure the cost of getting a 50 bmg, press, and brass, then add the cost of custom chamber reamer, custom dies, and a press that can form the brass down, and form dies. In round numbers, you'd be looking at a minimum of $5,000 to make your wildcat, and you'll find few componet bullets that can handle the velocity.

There is a much better way to go, and it's called the 500 A-square. You take a standard magnum mauser action that can handle the 460 Weatherby case, have a 50 caliber barrel fit and chambered, and with a long throat, you can use 50 bmg milsurp bullets. You get ~2/3 the velocity of a 50 bmg, burn 1/2 the powder, and can build it in a rifle that is of reasonable weight 10-12#'s. You can also get set up starting with a CZ-550 action for ~$2500.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post