Notify
Tools

Things to do with A Turkish Mauser
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Tex21
posted
Gentlemen,

I want to show and tell a little. I just got my barreled receiver back from my gunsmith this afternoon and threw everything together for a few photos. This is a Turkish M38 Mauser that wears a rethreaded Remington barrel, caliber 30-06. It is in an unfinished Boyd's seconds stock. I still need to fine tune everything thing, bed the action, finish the stock, and tune the safety so it doesn't go off on its own. Overall I am pleased. Please forgive me if the rifle isn't as refined as many posted here as I'm just starting out and learning, but I thought you guys would appreciate something new to look at.

Right Side

Top View

Floorplate

And again

Tex

Posts: 1449 | Location: Dallas, Texas | Registered: 24 February 2004Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
Tex,
that's a pretty decent starting point.

what bottom metal is that? looks like parker hale from here.

the bottom looks a little deep, and when (not if) i have done this, i use some sheet copper and space it back up. looks better than my first one.

when you sand/rasp on it, try to catch some of the dust and mix that in with the bedding (acraGEL) and it will help better than pimenting the die

i think it's the pic angle, but the bolt handle knob looks a little large.

looks like he turned off the "foil" on the front, which is a good plan.

tell us more about what's wrong wth the safety? swing forward by itself, or lets teh fireing pin go when you let it off?

i've got a slide safety timney around here that can go fairly cheap, but you'll hate me for the ugly thing it does to your stock

jeffe

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 39719 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us