New
Find
Notify
Tools

rong fu mills
 Login/Join

<k wood>
posted
I see enco has mills on sale right now. Has anyone used the Rong Fu mill? I've never seen one. They claim they come from the same plant as Jet. That doesn't mean they are the same though.

one of us
posted Hide Post
All of these machines are the same. The only design difference is in tables spec's. There is a quality difference between different between them. If you want to find out more on these machines then go to the yahooo group at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/mill_drill/
Ray

[This message has been edited by m1carbine (edited 01-15-2002).]

Posts: 147 | Location: Maryland, USofA | Registered: 08 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been a machinist/tool maker, for about 25 years. I have purchased machines both large and small, American, and Chinese. Heres the way it works, there are several companies that import this stuff, ie. Jet and Grizzly (among others) those companies sort the decent machines out and sell off the rest to places like Enco. Most of this stuff can be worked with as long as you can deal with the inherent inability of these machines to hold tight tolerances and repeatability, and have the skills and experience to do set ups that make up for the short comings of the machines, that is they tend to be a bit sloppy. If they are not sloppy when you get them they will soon become that way. If you really want to buy a mill, you would be better served to shop around for a used Bridgeport. I have one that was made before I was born (1958) and It works very well, and will out last any number of Chinese mill-drills. I picked it up from a community college for $800. If you buy a Chinese machine I would go with one of the direct importers. I have seen some Grizzly equipment that looked pretty good. I work in a prototype shop for a plastic manufacturer right now, and elsewhere in the building (one of the maintenance shops) we have a new Jet lathe. The guys from tha