Notify
Tools

Is this trap too big for dingos?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of D99
posted
http://www.minntrapprod.com/ca...396&products_id=4778

It's a wolf trap, and I am still learning the laws, and I aim to use it on wild dogs in Australia.

Posts: 4729 | Location: Australia | Registered: 06 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
How big is an average Dingo? Here in Wisconsin, USA I use the regular steel jaw for beaver and they work great. For the coyotes here I use the little brother to this trap, the MB650 also a great trap. If I had to hazard a guess, that coyotes and dingos are nearly the same size (35 lbs or so) the MB650 would be the better of the two but the MB750 would still certainly work. For your information the 650 has a 6.5" jaw spread and the 750 has a 7.5" jaw spread.

Good Luck!

**************************The two enemies of the people are criminals and government, so let us tie the second down with the chains of the Constitution so the second will not become the legalized version of the first.

Posts: 282 | Location: South West Wisconsin | Registered: 27 February 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I think its to big, most dingos are about the size of a coyote, but with a lot less hair. You also don't have a lot of snow and ice to contend with. I wouldn't go bigger than the 650 and if properly anchored with a spring, I think the 550 would do you. I always meant to try a predator call on dingos and I am positive they could be "howled" in. I nearly got the bite put on me once by imitating a buffalo calf!

Posts: 421 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 15 July 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
What state are you in? Trapping regs are different in each state.