New
Find
Notify
Tools

what to use
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
As many of you know, trapping season is just around the corner. Went friday to get my hunting license with a trapping stamp. Now all I need to know is what size traps to use(yes this is my first year, in my previous post I was just gathering info) and what brand is best? Plan on buying coil spring, long spring, and conibear traps. Also what is the point of offseting the jaws on the trap? Plan to mainly trap raccoons.

Cory

Still saving up for a .500NE double rifle(Searcy of course)

Posts: 189 | Location: Southern Maryland | Registered: 10 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Well all I can do is tell you what has worked for me, and a good friend who has trapped coon's for a lifetime. I use doublespring # 2's "in the crick {water} and 11/2 coil's on dryland. I have found the coilspring trap's settle to far in the mud. You want to keep the pan of the trap below the water about 6-8 inches. Think about how long a coon's front leg's are. When the are in water 6 to 8 inches deep there front leg's are just about straight. That's what you want for a good front leg catch. Especially if you are making a "drowning set". I use 220 conibear's when I use them. NO WAX on the conibear's. As for brand's well I have used alot of them. I like victor and blake and lamb. Just make sure if you buy used traps that the spring's are good and stout. I have no use for off-set jaws and coon trapping.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
If trapping coons with coilspring traps get 1 1/2 not # 2s.With Conibears use 220s.I think there is a bigger size 330 I think.I never used them so dont know if they are too big.They are hard to set by yourself so I reccomend the tool for setting them.By the way.........crabshells are the best coon bait I ever used.

Posts: 66 | Location: manchester md | Registered: 15 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post