Find
Notify
Tools

Conibears
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Aspen Hill Adventures
posted
I put three of these together yesterday with some old broken buckets. I used some old snaring cable to attach unit to a tree to prevent losing it. Did not take long to put together and I deployed them before dark.

I have three 160's as well but am waiting to find some of the square pails for them.

An interesting article on these traps.

Bodygrip traps

~Ann

Posts: 19149 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Skyline
posted Hide Post
I have been using the plastic 5 gallon pails for many years and they work really well. Only down side to them is in really cold weather they get quite brittle and will break. I have had more than a few blow apart into chunks when a lynx or wolverine got caught in them and the springing of the trap blew the bucket apart...but I am talking -30 and colder.

The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who are bereft of that gift.

Posts: 1809 | Location: Northern Rockies, BC | Registered: 21 July 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
These are junk buckets, have cracked bottoms or holes drilled from other failed projects. If they break I wont care. Just hoping for a little success.

I'd really prefer to build wood box holders but not going to buy lumber at today's prices. No treated plywood laying around the farm right now either.

~Ann

Posts: 19149 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for posting Ann. The name “coniber” takes me back to a time when I was 13 or 14 years old trapping muskrats around town. Great times that will not be lived again!

Keep us updated on your successes Ann!

Posts: 2640 | Location: Utah | Registered: 23 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jason P: