THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FUR HUNTING AND TRAPPING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Fur Hunting And Trapping    I want to trap a few fox during deer season, how?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I want to trap a few fox during deer season, how?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Prewar70
posted
I will be spending sometime in N. Minnesota for deer season and we are seeing quite a few large red fox. I thought it would be fun to set a few traps when I get there and see what happens. I have no equipment and no knowledge, except I know the areas where I see them.

Would someone here be willing to tell me the basics to get me started with a few traps or snares, whichever is more effective? So what type, where do I get them, how do I make the set, etc.

Thanks.

Posts: 894 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota | Registered: 13 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
Fox are easy to catch. For reds, I'd go with a # 1.75 or #2 coilspring trap (www.rpoutdoors.com). For best results, you'll want to degrease your traps, let them sit outside for 5-7 days to get a light coating of rust and then dye them with one of the commercial logwood dyes.

An 18" stake should suffice. On the RP site, you'll see quite a bit of lure and bait options. Every area is different in terms of what the animals prefer, but at that time of year, a food-based lure with maybe a hint of gland should work nicely in conjunction with one of the commercial baits.

I prefer the simple dirt-hole set for fox. Instead of going into detail, do a quick search and you'll find a sketch that shows exactly how it is set up.

Wear gloves and be careful not to elave any unnecessary human odor and you should do fine.

Bobby
Μολὼν λαβέ
The most important thing in life is not what we do but how and why we do it. - Nana Mouskouri