New
Find
Notify
Tools

Win 88 vs, Belgian BLR in .308
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Made the mistake of reading this forum and have caught the bug to get a lever action. Primarily hunting short to mid range mule deer and cow elk.

Any experience with these two guns? I would throw the finnwolf in the equation but I am having difficulty finding one to handle first. I will be adding a scope. Honorable mention goes to the 45-70 (ammo cost more + added recoil) and the 30-30 (may be a bit light for 150 yd cow elk)

Posts: 551 | Location: utah | Registered: 17 December 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been cruising guns shows for 3 decades and I don't think I have ever seen a Finnwolf.
If ammo cost bothers you the cost of a Win 88 will bother you too. Try to find a good used Browning.
I have a BLR in 358 but I would rather shoot an 50 year old Marlin.

Posts: 9207 | Registered: 22 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have a 88 in .308.
I paid 600.00 for it, and it is very acurate. Its abit on the heavy side, The Brownings from belgium aint cheap either.
But I bet if you are patient you could find a good buy.
The few finwolfs I have found were very expensive,
If you can find a nice old 99 savage you would probably like it fine too.
Levers are fun. Facory ammo for the 45/70 is very mild when compared to a .308.
And with a 30/30 170 grain bullet I would pop a cow elk for sure.
Those are real levers, the ones with no deatchabe mag...tj3006

freedom1st

one of us
posted Hide Post