THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM ALASKA HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Alaska Hunting Forum    Marlin guide gun 45/70 for Brown bear
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Marlin guide gun 45/70 for Brown bear
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Is this an adequate calibur?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
A search of this forum will give you all kinds of reading on this topic.

Posts: 709 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 16 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yes, history has shown the 45-70 is an adequate chambering for Brown bear at "close" range.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'd use mine in a heartbeat for BB, but as a resident I can pick and choose better. If conditions dont match what gun I am using, I can go out at another time.

For a non-res, if your gonna use a 45/70, let your guide know. that way he can plan on getting you close.

It has the killing power, just not the range.

A lesson in irony

The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing this year the greatest amount of free Meals and Food Stamps ever, to 46 million people.

Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us... "Please Do Not Feed the Animals." Their stated reason for the policy is because "The animals will grow dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."

Thus ends today's lesson in irony.

Posts: 1626 | Location: Michigan but dreaming of my home in AK | Registered: 01 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Check out the next Rifle Magazine for the article by Brian Pearce and the Marlin 1895. Very interesting.

I tend to use more than enough gun.

One of Us
Picture of gumboot458