New
Find
Notify
Tools

AlaskanMaster guide confession
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I’ve been guiding in Alaska for 20 years now. Half my life. Have ran my own guide business for 14 of those years. I do my best to be honest with people, fair with my clients and treat the wilderness and game with respect. I have turned guides in for violations that I have witnessed, and addressed others on issue that I felt were unethical. I am not perfect, I have made mistakes. I have had bad hunts, trips where everything goes wrong, personalities don’t mesh, Game isn’t anywhere to be found. I’ve had success, bears behind every tree, clients like best friends, everything I touch turns to gold. That’s the life of a guide, sometimes it’s cherries and sometimes it’s hog slop. I have battled my conscience over the years with the direction to take my business, places to invest my money and organizations to partner up with. Some turn my stomach and build my frustration, some I am indifferent to. But a few I have not been able to avoid and have tossed my hat in with them in the hopes of bettering my business with a business relation ship with them. But in as much as I have tried to remain neutral, I have fallen short. It is with much sadness and embarrassment that I break it here in these forums first, as I’m sure word will get out at some point and it is best that I admit to it now and not face scrutiny behind my back. I wanted to let everyone know that today I broke down and crossed a line that I myself have picking on people for, ridiculed clients choices and pokes fun at friends for.

I ordered a Kuiu product.

There I said it. It’s out. The weight on my shoulders is lifted and my spirit free with confession. Don’t think less of me. I did get them in a solid color so I can scribble out the logo with a sharpie though. I want to thank everyone for their support and encouragement thru this process, it was a struggle for me.

Master guide #212
Black River Hunting Camps llc