New
Find
Notify
Tools

My spring Blackie
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
This spring has been an odd one. I always hunt out of Tok, AK. I always go up the first part of may for spring blackies over bait. I've been doing it for about 10 years now but the camp has been going on for about 18years.

We hunt over bait kinda different from other folks. we set the bait out on 1 hill and we pull back to a spotting hill about a mile away. we use the bait to bring in bears then when 1 is spotted, its spot and stalk. Usually it only takes a couple of days for bears to start hitting. this year I did just a quick trip up, I went for 5 days vs the normal 2 weeks.

On day 5 we were packing up the cabin without even seeing a bear, let alone a track or skat. we were scratching our heads to say the least.

Anyways half way through packing the cabin, I decided to go and check the bait one last time. lo and behold it had a sow and 2 cubs on it. we were happy as hell, atleast we seen bears. it made the trip upto that point.

All of a sudden the sow pushed the cubs into the trees at a dead run. sure enough a boar walked out. My partner and I decided to go after it. As were hiking through the valley, the boar came down the hill and sat under a pine tree.

My buddy tapped me on the shoulder and pointed and sure enough there he was looking at us. I kneeled down, chambered a round and punched him through the shoulders (about 90yards). He hit the ground so hard my head hurt.

As we were laughing and joking, the bear jumped up and came down the hill towards us, pretty much pushing its front kickers through the grass. through an opening I put another one behind the left shoulder at about 30yards. heard the death moan and knew he wasnt getting up this time.

Nice bear, smaller than what we usually get but he will do. Rifle was a mark X 30-06 with 180gr failsafe.