New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: SKS-having a little fun
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Nice idea Bill. I have a Bushnell like yours and love it. I am totally new to SKS's and have some questions. What gun do I need if: I don't like the bayonet and grenade launcher?
Need to use optics so which one is most acceptable to scope mounting? Which is best for finding one in real nice condition? Is there such a animal out there? Appreciate any help you can give Bill. Thanks, Smoker

Posts: 215 | Location: NYS | Registered: 23 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bill Mc
posted Hide Post
I never could shoot my SKS very accutately due to the sights and my eyesight so I did this.

Used a Millet base to replace the rear sight leaf. Added a Red dot Sight. There's no magnification but I have a much better sight picture. My groups at 50 yards went from 6 to 8 inches to one and a half plus. Not even close to my other rifles but it has possiblilites.

Posts: 1450 | Location: North Georgia | Registered: 16 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bill Mc
posted Hide Post
I don't think the SKS is known as an "accurate" rifle. I did remove to bayonet from mine as I hope I don't need it. But it's is fun to shot. Hardly no recoil and I think the handloads I was using would probably come very close to factory 30/30. 29 grains of Reloader 7 pushing a Hornady (.310) 123 grain softpoint at 2490 fps.

This mount still is not as stable as a tapped scope mount would be but it seems to work as long as you realize it's no long range rifle.

To mount a scope on a SKS, the best way is to get the side mounts which would require a drill and tap operation. But I'm not sure where it mounts as the SKS seems to eject the fired round up (but never in the same place) and might hit a scope.