Find
Notify
Tools

500/416
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Bwanna
posted
To follow up on the K gun post. Can I get some feedback from those with experience with the 500/416. How does it compare to the 450/400?

Thanks all.

Posts: 1667 | Location: Las Vegas, Nevada | Registered: 12 May 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted Hide Post
Will be reading this post with interest, the 500/416 seems like a very competent round for a double.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have no knowledge of the 450/400. I consider the 500/416 to be comparable to the 416 Rigby. That is, a double rifle version of the Rigby that gives pretty much identical ballistics (400 grain bullet at 2400 fps).
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10510 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Wish the 500/416 would have taken off in the market more over the years, reloading supplies limited but I believe it to be one of the best all around DR calibers out there. I have owned DR's of both calibers and the recoil of the 500/416 is manageable but substantially more, and it should be, the energy and velocity is much more. If the reloading components were more available and prices being equal I'd pick the 500/416 caliber.

"An individual with experience is never at the mercies of an individual with an argument"

Posts: 1827 | Location: Palmer AK & Prescott Valley AZ | Registered: 01 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Will
posted Hide Post
Any 500/416 DR is much more dangerous than any K gun.

A combination of the 500/426 in a Krieghoff is, well, suicidal. Or at least downright uncomfortable!

-------------------------------
Will Stewart / Once you've been amongst them, there is no such thing as too much gun.
---------------------------------------