THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Advice on first double rifle
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advice on first double rifle
 Login/Join

posted
Good evening,
I’ve been contemplating a double rifle for years now and having read a great deal of great advisement in this forum, I finally joined and seek your counsel. I have a friend that has allowed me to shoot his Lancaster oval bore 450 BLE and then a 375 2 1/2 NE, which was like giving a crack addict their first hit. Other than this, I’ve no real experience with a DR; I have however chased Ruffed Grouse for years with vintage sxs shotguns, so the sight plane and double triggers is quite natural for me. My big game hunting is predominantly in Pennsylvania for whitetail and black bear with the hopes of one day taking an elk here in my home state. To date I primarily still hunt in timber with open sights and utilize a detachable scope mount system to use an optic if on stand or in open setting(Merkel k3 and then Blaser k95, now a R93). I don’t have great experience reloading, but have all equipment and an excellent mentor to help with learning that skill better. I am trying to stay on a more light DR as I cruise large tracts of mountain ground, and have considered an 8x57jrs or 9.3x74r, but an open to suggestions? I can stand a little recoil, but definitely don’t want something to dislodge fillings in my teeth. On another note my friend has offered this Lancaster 375 2 1/2 NE and he has load data, brass, dies and bullets. It is a beautiful DR, but well over 115 years old and an oval bore…not sure if that should concern me. I want to shoot and hunt with whatever I end up with and get good with it. I’m in my early 50’s and want to scratch this DR itch before older age and older eyes catch up with me. Any intel would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so very mu