THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Practice Loads for Double Rifles?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Practice Loads for Double Rifles?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey everyone, I'm still pretty new to the world of DR's, so I keep trying to learn as much as I can. I've come across some posts here about practice/light loads. Some seem to swear by them, and others dislike the idea altogether. I found some in Graeme Wright's book too, and it seems like they could be fun and less costly. Is this actually the case? Also, Mr. Wright has some Nitro for Black loads in his book.I would imagine that being a lower pressure load that they would be more than safe in a modern full nitro proofed rifle. Could these make good practice loads? Thank you for any help.

-Ryan

- Ryan

DRSS
NRA Life Member
.500 NE Sabatti

Posts: 40 | Location: Boulder City, NV | Registered: 19 August 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have cast lead bullets as practice loads for my double(s). Problem is that the POI is different than the full house loads.
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10515 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Train as you fight; only shoot full house loads from DRs.

Posts: 17288 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Another Sabatti member. Not to hijack the thread but I take it that you are happy and it shoots well? I have a 450-400-3 EJ that I haven't been able to properly put through the paces.