New
Find
Notify
Tools

30 cal. double
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am lowering my sights a bit and looking at above caliber guns. For what I will in reality be shooting in my life time a 30 cal double may be a good starting point. I have taken WT with 30-06 and it will suffice on hogs. I have no experience
with the 375 H+H. Both calibers are thousands less than the 40 Nitros in a top quality gun and ammo is easier to digest financially.What can anyone tell me about the the 2 calibers in a DG. Thanks all.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
.303 British would be the ticket in my opinion.

A wide variety of loads, near 30-06 perfolrmance and it's classic. Ammo is cheap, it's everywhere and it's rimmed.

Bailey Bradshaw

www.bradshawgunandrifle.com

I'm in the gun buildin bidness, and cousin....bidness is a boomin

Posts: 568 | Location: Diana, TX | Registered: 10 January 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have 2 Mekels SXS's, one in 375 the other in 30-06. The 30-06 feels like a 22lr compared to the 375. The 375 is a safari grade so it has the double triggers manual safety after close of action and iron sights with extractors. The 30-06 is a single trigger with auto safety and requires recoil of first barrel to set up second barrel (prevent doubling)It has ejectors.
I opted for the 30-06 for the availability of ammo and components which was my choice on the 375 also
I have several rifles in each of these calibers and If I only could have two rifles these would be it, plus trajectory of both are similar
The only issues with SXS that must be considered is some only like certain loads and Long range shooting is generally reserved for the single barrels both mind shoot OK out to 100 yards but I haven't really tried them any farther since the range I use only has a 100yd

NRA Life Member, ILL Rifle Assoc Life Member, Navy

Posts: 2300 | Location: Monee, Ill. USA | Registered: 11 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post