New
Find
Notify
Tools

A little Help
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Looking for a little guidance form my more experienced brethren. Todd Williams, Mike Jines etal. I have embarked into the world of the DR. I am currently shooting a Merkel 500NE while I wait for my VC NE to arrive.

Now to my issues. The front trigger on the Merkel sucks. It has a creep and a click before it goes off. The second trigger is crisp and clean. Hence my front barrel accuracy is not so good. I am practicing exclusively offhand for eles. Is it ok to shoot back trigger first?

Also so far I am just not very good with the damn thin. I had JJ put a Doctor Optic on it and that helped...some.

Any pointers?

Best Jeff

Posts: 2857 | Location: FL | Registered: 18 September 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I would hope that your first ele shot would be off sticks unless it is VERY close.But, I am not an expert. Have you tried shooting off sticks? I don't see any problems shooting the left barrel first, but I would suggest getting the front trigger looked at.
Just my 2 cents.
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10515 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hunting with CMS and we won't likely use sticks as we will likely move in for a proper distance on our ele. I like sticks don't get me wrong.

Jeff

One of Us
Picture of subsailor74
posted Hide Post