New
Find
Notify
Tools

The perfect falcon...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am new to the idea of falcon hunting. Though I find it very interesting; must be good for rabbits.
I am curious as to how one goes about aquiring a falcon, let alone training it. Can one train the bird one's self? Are the birds taken from the wild? Or must they be purchased?
I believe this may be an opinionated question, but, if one could aquire a falcon, what would be the best species? Now the same question if one could chose any falcon species in the world. I ask the second question because I don't imagine one could own an endangered falcon.

Arctic Gun

Posts: 91 | Location: North of sixty | Registered: 23 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
There are various birds that are used from kestrels to redtails to peregrine.Typically [certainly in NY] the sport is highly regulated. A long time of education and training is necessary before you would be permitted to get a bird.Contact your state widlife agency.There are some falcon hunting websites too,do a search.

posted Hide Post
falconry is nationally regulated. as for getting a falconers license go to your states wildlife/conservation department website.
for info on training and capturing, and equipment you can go to http://www.n-a-f-a.org/

one of us
Picture of Oldsarge
posted Hide Post
The ideal bird depends on where you live and what you hunt. If you live in the suburbs like I do, the perfect bird would be a great horned owl so you can lay waste to the golf courses after dark. Lot of rabbits and waterfowl on golf courses. "North of Sixty" makes things difficult. You'd definitely have to check with your local fish and wildlife agency for their take on the subject.

Sarge

Holland's .375: One Planet, One Rifle . . . for one hundred years!

Posts: 2690 | Location: Lakewood, CA. USA | Registered: 07 January 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post