THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    I need a new rifle. I want the flattest shooting caliber.
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I need a new rifle. I want the flattest shooting caliber.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
I would say that the 22-250 is really a good choice, but I have been told it can be hard on a barrel too--I'm not experienced enough with it to draw my own conclusions, but someone here can probably provide some empirical data as to whether that is true or not.

I know a lot of folks have taken Antelope quite effectively with them, and they are great on prarie dogs. I used the 70 gr. XXX and it is awesome on the speed goats.I tend to go with more standard stuff caliber wise so far, but some of those wildcats guys mentioned sound pretty cool.

The Sauer Varmint 22-250 I've got is way accurate, and I've got a Sako Grey Wolf on the way for when that barrel tanks......

Good Shooting--Don

Posts: 3563 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 02 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
One problem is that as you go toward higher and higher velocity, and better wind reiistance, you get less and less barrel life. A 6.5 X 284 barrel lasts about 1200 rounds, according to most who use it. A .257 Weatherby probably a lot less, maybe less than 500.

A cartridge made to solve this is the .243 CM. It is a sort of .243 Ackley Improved with a long enough neck so the bullet always seats in front of the "doughnut" which is formed by case sizing. The theory is to load this case a little "light" with very slow burning powder, usually H1000, and very good long-range bullets, such as the 115 grain DTAC. Users claim 3000 rounds of barrel life and accuracy/wind good wnough for national competition at 1000 yards.