Notify
Tools

No Pissing here...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
No Pissing here, Gentlemen shame

I need some REAL help...PLEASE Big Grin

My son and I have a Montana Muley/WT deer hunt planned for next year...I just got the word dancing

It seems 300 yard shots will be the norm.

We have...

(2) Rem 700 BDL 270W shooting 130gr Win. PP

(2) 6.5x55mm rifles...
Ruger MkII and a Savage both shooting 120gr Rem CL's

My newly acquainted friend there [Montana]shoots a Rem 700 BDL 25-06 26" barrel and Sierra 117 SPBT that kills them deader than dead at 300-350yds easily...All these years there he's had them all drop nothing but STRAIGHT DOWN Eeker

My question is...

Should I buy a 25-06 rifle too for me and my son to shoot at these typical ranges of 300-350 yards???

Shouldn't I be able to take my 6.5x55mm or my 270W and see that same type of dramatic kills at those ranges???

What am I giving up to the 25-06 using the cartridges and bullets I'm using???

I'm not a ballistics expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I would like you folks here who have REAL world experience to take me to SCHOOL on this, please!

I want to have confidence in my weapon of choice
and start practicing at these distances right away!

If I'm only giving up and inch or so downrange, then I'll stick with what we have and get out there and work up some loads that will SCREAM without bending anything... Big Grin

Desperately need your comments about my dilemna, if I don't need to spend the money then I won't as times are tough right now.

However, for this once in a lifetime opportunity
I want to be perfectly sure our rifle selection and bullet weight are optimal for these distances!...Thanks beer

Any loads for our rifles that we should try and of course work up to...would be even SUPER too!!!

Posts: 3430 | Registered: 24 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
JMO, anything the 25-06 can do, the .270 Win can do better. Thats what I would take.