Find
Notify
Tools

257 Roberts Brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of scottfromdallas
posted
I'm new to reloading and finding brass or ammo is impossible right now. I can't find any Winchester +p brass but I can find Remington brass. All the reloading info has disclaimers about "+p" brass in modern firearms. Is Remington that much weaker that I can't use the data? I'll be using IMR-4350 powder and CCI 200 primers. I have some remington 100 gr corlokts and 100 gr Ballistic tips. Most of the load recommendation start about 38 grs and max about 43 in the load data I've seen. I know I need to start at to lower end. I just want to make sure it's safe. Anyone have experience with the BOB in remington brass?

Posts: 1941 | Location: Texas | Registered: 19 July 2009Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
here's a funny ..
loads in the win+p brass ARE going to be higher pressure than if you shot the same loads in the remmie.. the brass is THICKER

i have worked up the same VELS in rem and win brass .. which are NOT the name loads ...

use classic loads and work up on pressure. The remeington BRASS ain't "thin" by any means .. and the pressure limit is about the 1891/1895 mausers that had been barreled for the bob, NOT a "modern action" which, in the transistional loading books, one is given "+p" loads for the SAME brass. usual disclaimers apply, don't hurt yourself. look at ammoguide.com on the bob for some reference data

i might have an unopened bag of winchester .. you in the states?

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 39692 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Mort Canard
posted Hide Post
Scott,