New
Find
Notify
Tools

100gn ttsx 257 Rob group
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What is the next step to try to get rid of that stringing?

The group before this one was 48grn Re19, and it went 1.8" triangle, so faster was quite a bit better.

Should I try a different primer? Push back seating depth? Scrap that load and start with a different powder?

Rifle is a Ruger m77, long action.

This is my first year reloading, so any tips would be great. Thanks.

Posts: 218 | Location: KC MO | Registered: 07 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
with the TSX seat it deeper, all the way to about 3/4 up the last groove. Start there and work back out 3 shots at a time. Me I would switch to H4350 as well. On a good day my 2.815 mag box length kimber will shoot 3 100 grain TSX bullets into .6 inches, on good day I wear my glasses and only have two cups of coffee!

Posts: 353 | Location: Georgia USA | Registered: 29 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Alright, the deal is I have a 117grn load that is around .6", is there a reason to chase the ttsx 100grn load?

Would the gain in velocity, or the barnes bullet itself be enough of an advantage to go to lengths to get a better group than was posted above at 1.05"?

As a side note, I'm new to this and any tips on what stringing is trying to tell me would be appreciated. Thanks

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I see no point in working with the 100 grain TSX if you have a .576 inch group on a regular basis, not just a "my best group of the day" basis. If I had a box of the TSX bullets I would seat 3 of them deeper, 3 more deeper, maybe 12 more rounds over 46 grains of H4350, shoot it if it works fine, if not you have a good load!!

Posts: 353 | Location: Georgia USA | Registered: 29 November 2005Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
i can tell you, but jimmy already did...

START at -.065 and work back to .075 ..