THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    Short Action, .378 head diameter options...

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Short Action, .378 head diameter options...
 Login/Join

<redleg155>
posted
I have a Rem M700 in .223 Rem that is a good shooter. I have no real background in tiny caliber, fast centerfires. Lately though, I've developed an interest in the fast little zappers. Why? I don't know - maybe because I'm just not the .223 type of guy.

Example: I have 2 mauser rifles in 30-06, an FN commercial and a 1909 Argentino. I have fired niether, and won't. Don't even have ammo for them. One will become a .416 Taylor, the other a 338-06. Not that there is anything wrong with the 30-06, but everyone has one and that's enough reason for me to avoid it.

Kind of the same for the .223. Good cartridge. This rifle does 1/2 at 100 yards with it's 10x Unertl scope. But, it's too common a chambering for me. I would like to hear what your opinions and recommendations are for the obvious re-barreling choices that are out there. Starting with the .17 MkIV through the 6x45mm (6mm-.223).

I am intrigued by the small ones like the .17 Remington and MkIV. Just read Todd Kindler's webpage info on the .20 calibers too. The "Tactical 20" seems like it's a real winner - thanks for the good reading Mr. Kindler.

I doubt I'll replace the .223 barrel soon as it's a good shooter, but eventually it will get replaced. Despite my mauser-only tendencies, this rifle was a gift so I will never be able to let it go.

OK, have at it and thanks.

redleg

one of us
posted Hide Post
Redleg,