New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cleaning Rods
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been shooting for 30+ years and have always used coated rods with bore guides.
I like the Parker Hale best because of the coating. They became hard to get so I was forced to the Dewey rod. I do not like the coating on these rods.
I am thinking of trying the Bore Tech or Tipton can anyone help on my decision?
Thanx

"Today is the 1st Day, of the Rest of Your Life"

Posts: 160 | Location: Maryland | Registered: 11 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been using a bore tech for a couple of years and the handle/bearings are great and free turning to follow the rifling well.....I have HEARD that they shed their coating easier than the Dewey/Parker Hale? and I notice that Sinclair who was touting the boretech for a while has gone back to the Dewey with a new handle/bearing.......I use a hardened stainless steel rod for field use and use the coated rod at the bench-cleaning cradle.....and wipe it down after cleaning the guns......I like it and have had no problems but I "baby" it compared to some of my shooting buddies....hth..good luck and good shooting.

bigdaddytacp

Posts: 687 | Location: Jackson/Tenn/Madison | Registered: 07 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I still have an old Parker Hale which has served me well. Currently I'm using a Tetra one piece rod and have not experienced any problems. Actually I have the Parker, a Kleen Bore and the Tetra. I tend to "baby" the rods in that I wipe the rod clean on the return pass (without the jag or brush attached, of course).

Posts: 161 | Location: Australia | Registered: 28 August 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've switched all my cleaning rods to Tipton Carbon. It's softer than steel and grit does not imbed. The handles work great. Only problem I've had is that the balance is hard to get used to.

One of Us
posted Hide Post