New
Find
Notify
Tools

Easy Cylinder Cleaning
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Ok, here is the easiest way I have found.

Use a bronze rifle brush one or two sizes larger than the caliber. Chuck the rifle brush up in a cordless drill with a little solvent and give it a spin. It cleans up a cylinder in a jiffy, it takes no more than two passes per chamber. Over time it puts a nice polish on the inside of each chamber. Don't worry it only polishes the high spots and will not wallow out the chambers. I have been using this method for 10 years with no adverse effects.
a 375 rifle brush works great on a 357
a 45 rifle brush on a 41
a 475 rifle brush on a 44
You get the idea.
I hope this saves you a ton of time, it has for me. I use it on my Freedom, Rugers and Smiths, it really makes cleaning the revolvers easy and fast.
Joe

Posts: 208 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 25 May 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Has anyone tried this method? Does it work for you? Is it common knowledge? Or is it just a silly non-time saving way to clean a cylinder?
Somebody please say something. I need some feedback, good bad or otherwise.
Thanks
Joe

one of us
posted Hide Post
Hey Joe, When it comes to "Revolver" Chambers, I really like the Hoppe's Tornado Brushes.

I remove the Cylinder, put a bit of Bore Cleaner in each Chamber and give it a few short strokes with the Tornado Brush. Then a tight paper Patch on a Jag usually shows it is spotless "inside" the Chambers.
---

I have used the Spinning Brass Brush trick on some buddies Rifle Chambers where the (constantly rusting) Chromemoly steel actually "rusted". I spun JB Compound in them and it eliminated their Cases "hanging" in the Chambers. Didn't look at them with a Bore Scope.
---

Why do you think it, "only polishes the high spots"? Don't your Brush Bristles have any "spring" to them?

Posts: 9920 | Location: Carolinas, USA | Registered: 22 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post