New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reducing Shotgun Barrel Fouling?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Over thirty years ago, a gentleman I learned a great deal about the shooting sports from, told me to lightly grease the inside of a shotgun barrel as the last step of cleaning. He used plain Hoppe’s gun grease on a mop, and then followed up with a couple plain clean patches to remove all but the thinnest film of grease.

I followed this procedure for a few years but quickly gave up on it when I started shooting and cleaning more. Lately, I’ve been wondering if he was greasing the barrel simply to prevent corrosion, or if there was some other benefit?

As I do more shotgun shooting, I am wondering if there is some magic elixir to treat the shotgun barrel with to make future cleaning easier. When I’m done cleaning these days, the last thing I do with the barrel is to lightly oil it with whatever elixir I am currently using, over the years I’ve used original Break Free CLP, Tetra, and the majority of the latest and greatest. These days I’m using M-Pro 7 products.

Is there something that others have found that makes subsequent shotgun barrel clean up easier?

Posts: 91 | Location: Portland, OR | Registered: 15 February 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grenadier
posted Hide Post
Yes.

• First and foremost, shoot good quality ammunition. It seems like the cheapest junk ammo you can get is also the dirtiest burning. I shoot "best loads for best guns" and they are called that for a reason.
  • Second, if you want a clean gun, shoot ammunition with fiber wads. I almost always shoot ammunition with fiber wads. Fiber wads tend to swab the barrel as you shoot. The guns still get dirty and need cleaning but they stay clean noticeably longer than when shooting plastic wads. With fiber wads you won't get the plastic buildup on the barrel walls that you get with plastic cups and you won't get bits of plastic finding their way into the action.