New
Find
Notify
Tools

Only way to "really" clean a barrel
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been shooting rifles for over 40 years.

I have used most of the solvents/techniques that have been on the market over the years.

However...

The only way to REALLY totally clean your barrel is to use a product like J&B or Rem Clean [originaly Gold Medalion for you old timers]. Ie. an "abrasive" bore cleaner.

If I [or you] have a bbl that is a bad fouler, that will get it done every time.

Recently after using J&B mixed with Prolix [to a toothpaste like thickness, a trick I learned from Aleko of Heritage Arms] on a 300 Win Mag bbl, I then used Prolix to finish the process, flushing out rhe J&B mixture. I also brushed a new 308 bbl with Prolix and left it wet over night not dry patching it out.

Both of these bbls put the next 3 rounds under one inch and the zero did not shift. After shooting 24 rounds, I "punched out" the 300 Mag bbl with a brass brush and Prolix, then used a couple of patches with Prolix, followed by 2 dry patches, the next 3 rounds, and the next several 3 round groups all hit to the POI, ie no zero shifting.

You might want to give Prolix a try.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
How did you apply the JB/Prolix mix? Patch? Nylon brush?

Thanks.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Aleko just dips a bronze brush into the mixture.

I like to use a worn down bronze bursh, or the next size smaller, and wrap a square cleaning patch around the brush and then I cover it with the mixture with my finger.
I will then to 5 to 10 strokes, push a couble wet patches with prolix through the bore, change the patch on the brush and repeat until the bbl is clean.

How do you know it is clean???