THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUN CLEANING FORUM

Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any 'good' jointed cleaning rods out there?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of CDH
posted
Well? The aluminum nightmares that Hoppe's sells suck. I like carrying a rod to the range and field, but long rods inevitably get caught in the car door (or similarly stupid place) on the first or second trip, and are then bent to hell. I'm not really good at straightening them either...once kinked they are permanently wavy.

I want a decent jointed rod for carrying to the range and into the field...

Ideas, preferences, or experiences to share?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.

Posts: 1780 | Location: South Texas, U. S. A. | Registered: 22 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hello CDH,
Go to your local hardware store, buy some small diameter PVC pipe, end cap, and make a rod holder that will protect the rod from "accidents." Even cleaning from the breech, not muzzle, I would always want a good one piece Dewey cleaning rod or one of similar quality. Just a suggestion.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have Dewey and Bore tech rods. Like Diver said , I use 1 1/4" pvc pipe with caps for my rod cases.

Posts: 4821 | Location: Idaho/North Mex. | Registered: 12 June 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
what about a bore snake?? I mean are you going to be seriously cleaning your gun, or do you just need a couple runs through the barrell?? I have a few and they work great, I even use them when I clean my guns, although I follow up with a rod to get "down" in there

One of Us
posted Hide Post
What about Otis very portable and packable. http://www.otisgun.com

one of us
Picture of CDH
posted Hide Post
Hmmm, that Otis kit looks promising!